Search Rhode Island DWI Records

Enter Name to Search for DWI Records:

First Name: *

Last Name: *
Middle Name:
City:
State *
* Required Fields


Rhode Island DWI laws and Penalties

Rhode Island takes a hard stance against DWI. The state's stringent laws and penalties
are based on age and blood alcohol content (BAC) levels. However, it's important to
remember the following points:

• Any DWI resulting in death of another person is considered a felony.

• Any driver under 21 years old found with an open container in his or her vehicle
may face a 30 day suspension.

• "Implied Consent" means that any driver behind the wheel of a vehicle gives the
state permission to administer a any BAC test.

The state defines driving while intoxicated (DWI) as any driver 21 or older with a BAC
of .08% or higher. The law is less tolerant for drivers under 21 who can be charged with
DWI for a BAC of .02% or higher

 

Test Refusal

If you refuse to take a chemical test, your license will be suspended for a minimum of
ninety (90) days. You are also subject to a fine, a highway safety assessment, public
community service, drunk driving school and/or an alcohol treatment program. Penalties
also increase for each subsequent refusal to submit to a breathalyzer test

 

Under 21

For drivers 21 years of age or older, test results that show a blood alcohol content (BAC)
in excess of 0.05 but less than .08, can be convicted of DWI (driving while impaired) if
there is other evidence that you were driving under the influence of alcohol.

A BAC level as low as 0.02% (which is less than one beer for most people) can result in
the loss of your driver's license, a fine of up to $150, and community service of up to 100
hours.

 

Juvenal Drunk Driving (Under 18, First Offender)

Penalties for a BAC of .10% or more include:

6- to 18-month license suspension, $500 maximum highway safety assessment, 10 to 60
hours of community service, alcohol or drug treatment or $250 driving school, and time
in family court with your parent(s).

Penalties for a BAC at least 0.02% but less than 0.10% include:

a 6-month license suspension, a $150 highway safety assessment or community service,
and the Family Court Judge may order "Driving While Intoxicated" course and/or
alcohol-drug treatment.

 

DUI for Age 18 to 21

Penalties for a First Offender with a BAC at least 0.02% but less than 0.10% include:

a 1- to 3-month license suspension, a $100 fine, a $150 highway safety assessment, 30
hours community service, attend a "Driving While Intoxicated" course. You may take
part in alcohol-drug treatment at the judge's discretion.

 

Insurance

Your insurance rates will probably rise considerably, and the rates of you family
members, or even in some cases your employer, may rise as well.

 

Even Greater Penalties

You are subject to even greater penalties if you had a DUI related crash that involved
serious injury or death.

 

First Offense DUI Penalties

First Offense - BAC .08-.10

Fine ranging from $100-$300

• Suspended license for one to six months, up to one year in jail, and a $50
reinstatement fee

• At the discretion of the court, serve 10-60 hours of community service

 

First Offense - BAC between .10-.15

• Fine $100-$400

• One year in jail or 10-60 hours of community service

• Suspended license 3-12 months

 

First Offense - BAC of .15 or Higher

• Fine $500

• One year in jail or 20-60 hours of community service

• Suspended license 3-18 months

• Participation in a drunk driving course or drug or alcohol treatment plan

 

Second Offense DUI Penalties

Second Offense - BAC between .08-.15%

• Fine $400

• Suspended license for up to two years

• Minimum 10 days to one year in jail

• Alcohol or drug treatment

 

Second Offense - BAC of .15% or Higher

• $1,000 Fine

• Jail for 6-12 months

• Suspended license for two years

 

Third Offense DUI Penalties

Third Offense - BAC between .08-.15%

• Felony

• Mandatory $400 fine

• One to three years in jail

• Two to three years license suspension

• Alcohol or drug treatment

• Ignition interlock device for up to two years after sentence is completed

 

Third Offense - BAC between .15% or Higher

• Fines $1,000-$5,000

• Jail for 3-5 years

• Suspended license for three years

• At the discretion of the judge the violator's vehicle may be seized and sold by the
state

 


Search Rhode Island County DWI Records

Bristol County
Kent County
Newport County
Providence County
Washington County

Search DWI records, DUI records, Drunk Driving Records and other Criminal Driving Arrests

Enter a first and last name into the form above and start searching for people's public information. With a few clicks, find everything from someone's arrest records and financial data to their tattoos. Check up on new business prospects, new girlfriends or boyfriends, see if your babysitter is a big drinker or see if you should really be lending your neighbor your car.

This type of service, until recently, has been available only to private investigators, but now with search engine technology has been connected with the massive public databases. You can access county, state and federal records easily.

Beyond letting you find DWI records, searches can include any of the following:

  • DUI Records
  • Current and Past Addresses
  • Arrest Records
  • Court Warrants
  • Phone Records
  • State Tax Liens
  • Property Records
  • Age and Date of Birth
  • Aliases
  • Maiden Name
  • Bankruptcy Records
  • Relatives and Neighbors
  • Roommates and Co-Workers
  • Tatoos, Scars or Other Marks
  • Life, Death, and Birth Records
  • Marriages and Divorce Records
  • Unclaimed Money